Reviews for Rainbow’s End

RainbowsEnd_coverEnjoy these Reviews and what readers are saying about Rainbow’s End! See more reviews at http://www.amazon.com/Rainbows-End-J-B-Bonds/product-reviews/0988905205/ref=cm_cr_dp_synop?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=0&

A reading experience that is sure to put a smile on your face, February 25, 2015

By

Niki Driscoll (Micco, Fl United States)
 This book had a great storyline, was well written and was a lot of fun. Following the antics of Roz and Janie at the Rainbow’s End retirement village has got to be one of the most fun books that I have read in a long time. The characters are well developed, colorful,charming and full of life. This is not what one thinks of when we think of a retirement home, you think laid back ,quiet,boring bingo and somewhat depressing. Rainbow’s End is anything but that. The inhabitants are energetic, full of spunk, full of life and prone to mischief. If you are looking for a reading experience that is sure to put a smile on your face and a laugh in your heart this is the story for you. I hope to visit the wonderful people of Rainbow’s End again and look forward to seeing what they get up to next.
This was a fun book to read, February 25, 2015
This was a fun book to read. I found myself laughing at some of the parts more than I thought I would. I enjoyed living the day to day lives of Roz and Joanie. They might be older, but they do not let their age get in their way of having a great time with the other residents at Rainbow’s End. I liked the way everything worked out in the end and I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good laugh and a light read.

 

Funny!!, February 26, 2015
By
 For this review, I read Rainbow’s End by J.B. Bonds, which was my first book I read by this author. It is their debut book from what I read. Also J.B. Bonds is a pen name for 2 sisters, who write together and they are Jane McCoy and Brenda Rowell.

My husband job before the one he has now was at a retirement village. There was many kinds of houses- regular houses, Townhouses, retirement village (it was it’s name), and a nursing home. Shawn told me stories about the residents. When I started reading this book, those stories were in the back of my mind. This book reminded me of a soap opera of many things happening at the same time, but I feel like there was a lot going on.

There was this mystery about something, which I am not going to say what because yes, you need to read the book. I love the mystery. It added something to this book, which I loved. I was all into the who? what? when? where? Wow, there was so interesting characters, too, but my absolute favorite is …….Burton!! OMG, loved this character a lot, but yes, you know what I am going to say, read the book!! I can not tell you why I love this character because if I do, then it will ruin it for you and I do not want to disappoint you.
I give this book 4 out of 5 stars because of all that was going on. When I do these reviews, I take notes and it was a lot I was writing down.
Would I recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Would I read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa

Pot of gold!, March 1, 2015
This was such a fun read! It was refreshing to read about women who were not struggling in their ‘golden’ years and living life to the fullest. I found myself laughing through a lot of their escapades and thought the characters of Joanie and Roz were quirky, sweet, funny, and made me smile. I would love to be like them when I get older. They live life and are not held back by the number of their age. They were like an older version of a Cagney and Lacey type and they pull it off! The book wasn’t just funny and it held my interest throughout and loved to see older, strong women who seem to do it all!

 

Great Read!, March 4, 2015
What a fun story. My sister and I are moving to South Carolina and my daughter’s friend recommended this book. It’ a story like ours, we hope to have as much fun as the sisters in the books. The characters were unique and lovable. This is a story that so many people share, I am glad JB Bonds wrote it down for all of us to enjoy over and over again. Thank you. And we are looking forward to the future adventures in Pelican Key.
New best friends, January 3, 2015
This is a wonderful book! Reading it was like was visiting with friends, as I was entertained by the colorful characters and their hilarious adventures. I hated for the book to be over, yet was so caught up in the plot that I stayed up late to finish it! I have shared it with friends and family they loved it too! Can’t wait for a sequel.

Gail P. CurtinWhat a wonderful book! I loved all of the characters and …, December 30, 2014

What a wonderful book! I loved all of the characters and the community in which they live. My sister and I would be lucky to retire to such a fun, caring and exciting spot in the Keys. I look forward eagerly to the next adventure the authors have in store for Joanie and Roz. I recently retired from our local library, I will be gifting a book for the collection as I know many of the patrons will adore this and not just women of a certain age!
You will be hooked by the first chapter!, December 29, 2014
One of the funniest books I have read in long time! I just wish Rainbow’s End was a real place because I would move there today!
Ready for the sequel, December 29, 2014

Funny, enjoyed very much. You get to know the characters and feel for their emotions. I hope retirement is as exciting as this!

D.H . June 12, 2014

If you are looking for a fun read for the beach or any time, this is the one to choose. And if you think retirement is a boring prospect, meet the delightful cast of retirees who inhabit the community of Rainbow’s End. But it’s not all fun and aquatic exercise classes. Woven into the entertaining predicaments facing the characters is an undercurrent of intrigue and danger. This is an entertaining read from start to finish.

Suzanne Blanchet Jan. 30, 2014

Very good, funny, witty, loved the 2sisters together. Got me thinking about moving to Key West, as I am 61 years old myself.

Jeri L. Howser Jan. 21, 2014

I loved reading this book. Funny and delightful. I would love living in Rainbows End! A great read for entertainment and relaxation.

Great!
one of the best books that I’ve read in a long time. It keeps you guessing. Have told several people about this book. Jan. 14, 2014
 by Eva Shay

For the mature reader or people not afraid to know seniors just want to have fun!, November 3, 2013 

                         by Xnybnnc

It is about two sisters in there 70’s and their lives and the goings on around them and their neighbors in a mobile home park in the Florida keys. I am in my 50’s but worked in retirement communities my whole working life. There is a mystery going on and definitely a whole lot of living going on. I would like to find a place like this to retire in minus the drama which I won’t.divulge except to say we all look for the fountain of youth.

 

Wonderful Tale of True Sisterhood, October 18, 2013 by Kim Dalferes

Rainbow’s End is an enjoyable, sassy, read for anyone looking for a funny tale that reflects true sisterhood. This story of two widows, written by two sisters, offers a delightful mix of dialogue and storytelling that mirrors how the writers must surely feel about one another. As a Florida gal, I was immediately drawn to the Key West setting; the writers did not disappoint in capturing the details of my beloved home state. This book made we want to go hang out with the writers, perhaps one day I’ll have a chance to enjoy a good cigar with them.

 

Excellent Read!!, October 11, 2013 by Nicole Prukop

This book had me grinning from beginning to end. I couldn’t help the occasional chuckle and everyone around me would just think I was nuts! I never thought, at 33, I would read anything like this. Thoroughly enjoyed reading about life for older generations. Who says it has to be boring?!

Makes you want to retire, October 9, 2013 by Amy

Reading this makes me want to move to Florida and live in one of these communities. I think these two sisters have more energy than I do. The sisters really write a great story but with beautiful detail. I hope more books are out by them.

What fun!, October 6, 2013 by Bonnie W (Queensbury, NY)

I had such fun reading about all the adventures in Rainbow’s End! It made me wish I were living there! The characters were interesting and the story line was very good. I am hoping this will be the start of a series!

Fun Read, October 3, 2013 by Betsy

This book was very entertaining ~ I would recommend this as a fast, fun read. I laughed out loud several times but it was also quite touching, even though it’s only a story.

Don’t Fear Being a Blue Hair!!!, September 26, 2013 by Scorpio

Join two over-70 sisters and their adventures in their sunset years community Rainbow’s End. A charming and heart-warming tale that has some fun and some surprises for those who think the older generation is dull and boring. Fully engaged in life, and loving every little bit of it these women are witty, vital and loving people. Don’t miss it.

 Rainbows End, September 12, 2013

By George

I loved the book. I would love to hear more stories from Rainbow’s End. What happens next with the new neighbors?

 what a hoot!, September 7, 2013

By Janet C. Collova “AikenJan”

I’ve recommended this book to several friends…shall we say that are of a certain age that can easily relate! Also, having spent time in the Keys, the wacky neighbors in the book might not be as shocking to me. The trip to Hog’s Breath was hilarious…the lost keys eerily familiar! If you are looking for some laugh out loud fun, you need to read this book.

 Loved it!, September 9, 2013
By Darcie G
I really enjoyed this book. Lots of fun. Great characters that made you want to see what was going to happen next.

 A Scenario Many People Can Put Themselves Into, September 10, 2013

By Janice Garland

I really enjoyed reading and laughing along with each of the characters in this book. It is definitely a setting that I could put myself and my sister into and see all the funny situations actually happening.

Rainbows end, September 5, 2013

By Carol

To the sisters this is a laugh out loud book. Great job. To the readers this book will keep your attention and keep you laughing. Set in the Florida keys and the sisters . Funny and a must read.

 

OMG, I want to see a movie made of this one!, September 4, 2013
Dee Cagle

With the delightfully colorful characters and the fun story line, I think this would make a wonderful movie. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was easy and fun to read. I hated for it to end and would love to see more stories about this community. Five very bright stars!

 

Fun read, September 2, 2013

By  Mary (Pittsburgh, PA USA)

This was a fun, easy read. The characters are well developed and make you wish you knew them in real life. And the authors make a retirement community sound like the greatest place to live.

 

Enjoyable!!!, September 2, 2013

       I

totally enjoyed this book! The characters were so vivid in my mind. If retirement communities are like this one, I’m ready to move in!
I’m sure this book will be enjoyed by many. It’s a book that can be read by people of various ages.
I wholeheartedly recommend this book to everyone who likes to laugh and solve mysteries.
I hope there will be a book 2.
Still laughing about the characters in this book. Sorry it ended.

 

Rainbow`s End, August 30, 2013

 

By

Patricia A. Gregory (MESA,AZ)

This is a fun , quick read and great recipes also. Once I started it I didn’t want to put it down.

 

“Laugh-Out-Loud book”
By Maureen T. (Rainbow’s End – Kindle Edition)
August 28, 2013: Rainbow’s End is a very enjoyable read. Being a senior myself, I could relate to some of the author’s chapters. The characters are so real and unforgettable, and probably because us seniors have probably met some of same only with different names. It is always good to have a belly laugh, and Ms. Bond surely knows how to do this with her writing.

From: Jennifer Wadkins via juliesbookreview.blogspot.com
July 30, 2013: I loved this book! This is an amazing story that everyone should read. It’s quick to grab your attention & keep you riveted til the very end. The characters are so easy to fall in love with. You get wrapped up in their lives before you know it.
I can’t wait to read more by this author. I rate this book 5 stars. Submitted by Jennifer Wadkins

Such fun to read, July 31, 2013
By Marcia Cobina Coker
This review is from: Rainbow’s End (Kindle Edition)
Jane and Brenda have created wonderful characters named Ros and Joanie who are resourceful, bright, loving and funny. I did not want to stop reading about their friendships, everyday activities and adventures. Hope to hear more from these authors. 

May 27, 2013 By Brent Moore (via Amazon)
I absolutely loved Rainbow’s End. It was so hilarious that I would laugh out loud at times. I loved the quirky characters. It was a light and easy read and I could hardly put it down. I can’t wait for this author to publish their next adventure. I would recommend this book to anyone that has a sense of humor. Loved it!!!!!

 

 May 27, 2013 By lc (via Amazon)
I found this book an easy fun read. i could relate to the two sisters and their escapades. makes retirement sound like an adventure.

Apr 17, 2013 Millie West rated it
I had so much fun getting to know the characters in Rainbow’s End. During the course of reading the book, I felt like I became friends with sisters, Roz and Joanie. Burton made me laugh, and I believe I would be welcome at his parties. Good for Roz and Joanie getting to the bottom of the secret of Caliente honey. Great book! I enjoyed it very much
 June 9, 2013 By J. Boyd (via Amazon)

Rainbow’s End is more than a cozy mystery. Rainbow’s End is a upscale retirement village in the lower Keys, within 30 minutes of Key West, Florida. Two sisters, Joanie and Roz (both in their 70s) are enjoying all of the activities and friendships at Rainbow’s End. Their paradise is like a dream vacation every day of the week. There is a load of crazy characters including my favorite, Burton the cross dresser in his 60s. I love to read the details of Burton’s designer clothes.
When new neighbors move in next door to Joanie and Roz, some strange things start to happen in the retirement community. Between road trips to Key West and parties, some of the seniors start acting very wild. Then there is the problem with burglaries. The sisters get involved in investigating the new neighbors and soon put themselves into danger.
This is such a fun book to read. I could only dream of having this much fun when I retire. Although the characters are seniors, there is not one boring moment in the book. I needed a light and happy book to read that would make me smile and bring some laughter. This book was made for people who love to laugh.

 July 21, 2013 By Joe (via Amazon)
This was a cute and fun read. Loved all the characters and all of the twists and turns in the story.

July 5, 2013 by N.B.  (via Amazon)
These ladies have a ball. It’s fun joining them in their adventures. Nice to hear about senior citizens taking control of their lives. The characters are well developed and the place seems interesting.
 June 4, 2013 By Melody H. Seys(via Amazon)
I have never written a review for a kindle book but thought that this book merited one. I just startd it two days ago and I am almost done. I adored all he characters especially Burton the cross dresser. I haven’t finished yet so hope nothing happens to him. I want to live in Rainbow’s End when I retire.. it looks like so much fun… I got online to see if the author (who I found out were authors/sisters to boot and one lives in the same town as my sister) had any more Rainbows End books but I didn’t see any. Would be interested to know if they are planning any more.
The only bad thing I have to say is that it was hard keeping track of people’s names and which person they belonged to.. which lady was the kleptomaniac, which one had the 15 cats? Maybe a little breakdown before you read it would have been nice 🙂
June 4, 2013 By Priscilla Eyler -(via Amazon)
Absolutely loved this book. The characters and plot(s) were fresh and entertaining. Can’t really pick a favorite character … each one is deserving … although Burton is a delight!!!J
June 2, 2013 By joy reist – (via Amazon)
What a great book! Gives me hope for the future, maybe the Golden Years won’t be so bad after all. I truly enjoyed every aspect of this book, hope there’s another in the works.
  June 1, 2013 By
Mj
(via Amazon)
This was adorable. The sisters are, well, people I’d love as neighbors. The residents are interesting. I’d like to know more about them. Burton is a hoot. A fun read for sure. I really hope they write more!
May 31, 2013 By mommyrocks – (via Amazon)

This book had me laughing out loud. It has some very endearing characters and while it is full of quips and funny moments, it also has a touching story. I highly recommend it.
May 27, 2013 By Movie man -(via Amazon)

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Rainbow’s End. The book was filled with both good humor and suspense and was a fun and fast read. I passed Rainbow’s End on to my sister who loved it, too! Nancy
February 27, 2013 By Rebecca Hartless- (via Amazon)
I loved the characters and the setting. I’m looking forward to a sequel. It was a great way to unwind in the evenings after a long day at work. The sisters’ escapades kept me smiling.

4 thoughts on “Reviews for Rainbow’s End

  1. This was a lot of fun to read. I like many different types of books and this one was easy to read and stay connected into with the many funny characters. I have been to a place like Rainbow’s End and would like to have known that there were so many interesting people there when I was there. I hope the ladies write another and that it keeps my interest as much as this one did. Good job sisters.

  2. What a delightful book! I read most of it in one day, just couldn’t wait to read what was happening next. Burton was my favorite character, loved his fashion choices. I’m ready for Pelican Key!! What drew me to this book was seeing that Jane Bonds McCoy was one of the authors. Jane and I worked together back in the 60’s in Roanoke, VA. Her fun loving personality shines through in Rainbow’s End. Hope to see you, Jane, when you come back to the lake!!

  3. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to
    browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, superb blog!

  4. Rainbow’s End is a delightfully entertaining book that kept me laughing, smiling, and turning the pages until the wee hours of the morning. I just could not put it down as I had to know what would happen next. The main characters are two retired sisters who are totally relatable, charming and zany. Their adventures in retirement community living takes place in Pelican Key, Florida at the Rainbow’s End Retirement Community. We should all hope to have this much fun and excitement in our “Golden Years” and find a Rainbow’s End. I do not want to disclose more of the plot and spoil the laughs, surprises and colorful supporting players. It’s just too much fun. In this crazy world of stress and frustrations, do yourself a favor and get a copy of this book and enjoy the read cover to cover. You will thank me. I can’t wait for the sequel!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *